CURRENT (SEPT 21) RAFAIR MULTI SQN MISSION - CONTENT & PLANNING

The 'Why, Where and How To' about mission planning in DCS
Chris

CURRENT (SEPT 21) RAFAIR MULTI SQN MISSION - CONTENT & PLANNING

Post by Chris »

The last three multi squadron missions have run 'Faux-Fulda'

All have seen seen issues with missing RED objects and random AC failure.

I have looked at 'Faux-Fulda' in the ME and can see no obvious issues. It is a simple mission with a few push starts on triggers. Only one MOD was written in, De ZImms using tents and containers.

Although not involved in RAFAir Multi SQN mission design by choice I have a lot of experience over many years in muliplayer missions, design, scripts and extensive use of MODs. For what RAFAir is trying to achieve with 20-30 players and multiple flight plans is very demanding on DCS and takes an awful lot of sever handshaking with all the clients in an attempt to give the illusion of community flying. There will always be bugs and each update of DCS may allow bugs to appears in strange and obscure ways.

The current process of copying and pasting flights I suggested many moons ago and for the most part, due to Andrews enthusiasm and diligence , it works. BUT the more pastes are done, with repeats, amendments and amendments on amendments etc the more scope there is for user or ME error.

3rd Party MODs can effect game play in strange ways. I have spent 100's of hours troubleshooting MODs in the past and with strange results i.e. at one stage just having ONE range object in a MP miz on a dedicated server caused f18C to only auto start one engine not 2 and Mi8 rotor blades to mast bump and break off on idle after start up. Several updates later it was gone.

There is no issues with MIST scripting if chosen to be used. What you write / use either works or it does not, testing quickly throws up errors.

To cut a long (er) story short consider:-