Falcon BMS Installation Help Sheet

Sharpe

Falcon BMS Installation Help Sheet

Post by Sharpe »

All: Please can I ask that if you find a 'glitch' with BMS and then resolve it (Maggsy with the controllers mapping issue, Maggsy and Beanine with the windows 10 microphone configuration defaults in IVC, muff with how to fix the issue that allows 2d window mode with full size 3d scene etc)

to PLEASE post it in the link below (bug and fix). It is becoming clear that people are tripping up over issues people have found and resolved but because it gets spoken about in what's app groups the issues and fixes are lost to most people.

Thanks
😁

All,
As promised please see below:

BMS Set up Guide
I will caveat this by saying I am not an expert when it comes to installing BMS or troubleshooting.
This guide merely collates information from the internet with a few snippets of advice based on prior experience.

DO NOT INSTALL ANY THIRD PARTY SOFTWARE WITHOUT RUNNING IT PAST SHARPE FIRST, often 3rd party software exists from 4.32 and 4.33 that is not needed for 4.34 and can mess it up. Software known to be safe:

Helios, YAME64 (although only works if a version of 4.33 exists – not ideal and extractions can be achieved in other ways), Mission Commander (enhancement for mission editing), weather Commander (enhanced weather editing for missions), Weapon Delivery Planner (enhanced pre-flight mission/data cartridge and knee-board manipulation), TACVIEW.

Note that I only use Helios (by necessity) and Mission Commander (by choice for some missions, just to change call signs). I have used Weapon Delivery Planner but I find often times it does not add that much and it just slows down getting into the pit.

What do you need?
1) An account to the Benchmark Sims (BMS) forum area here: https://www.benchmarksims.org/forum/content.php
2) A copy of the original Falcon 4.0 (you can get this from steam, Good Old Games, Retro sim and other places) DON’T get allied force it won’t work.