RT checks at startup and taxi

0405 Andrew
Site Admin

RT checks at startup and taxi

Post by 0405 Andrew »

I have no experience with RT communication and would like to clarify what I should be saying, there maybe no hard and fast rule and that's OK.

On last nights mission I notice everyone was saying "Hog 2 (3 or 4) - Loud and Clear on 251.0” Should 3 and 4 say this or just call "Hog 3" and "Hog 4"

Radio check Hog Lead “Hog Flight – This is Hog Lead on 251.0 – Check in”
Hog 2 “Hog 2 – Loud and Clear on 251.0”
Hog 3 “Hog 3”
Hog 4 “Hog 4”
Hog Lead “Hog load and clear – Go to 32.00 FM”
0405 ANDREW

Tuesday Mission group lead
"Andrew, you are right"
Flyco: 28 Jul 2021, 12:50
Image ImageImage Image

Neil Willis
Site Admin

Re: RT checks at startup and taxi

Post by Neil Willis »

To minimise time spent talking, and more importantly, emitting radio energy that can be used by your opposition to built an intel picture of your activities, you should keep things as short as possible.

So, the correct radio check procedure is:

Flight lead: “Hog flight, check in” (or “radio check”

Hog 2: “two” - this brief call means you can hear loud and clear.

Hog 3 “three”

Hog 4 “four”

Hog Lead “Hog one”

The reply would be “difficult but workable, two” or “unworkable two” if you cannot hear clearly. If a call sign doesn’t reply, leave a 5 second pause before replying in turn.

The call will be a regular routine and be expected, so having radios on, and correctly tuned in time for the call is essential for good comms discipline.
Group Captain Neil Willis - RAF Air UKImageImage
ImageImageImage

Flyco
Site Admin

Post by Flyco »

The full formal structure of an R/T call, where Hog 1 is calling all the formation on a frequency of 140.00 is:

"Hog Formation - this is Hog 1 on 140.0Mhz - Check in"

There is normally no problem with abbreviating this call to, for example:

"Hog check in" where there is only one radio/frequency in use, and comms are good.