Hello

Introduce yourself to the RAF Air UK members
Malc

Hello

Post by Malc »

Hi everyone,

My name is Malc - Malcolm - and am a Scot based in West Sussex. I have only dabbled with DCS to date (I have the Hornet and Combined Arms). I've been flying sims since Falcon on the Atari ST, and mostly followed the Falcon route since through AT, F3, and F4. I am a Dev with Benchmark Sims, responsible for a great many of the airports in KTO among other things.

Aside from Falcon, I always loved the Apache and Janes Longbow/Longbow 2 and indeed still flew it with Windows 7 until one of the later updates killed it completely, never able to get it to work on later Win7 or Win10. Needless to say when I heard the Apache might be coming to DCS I was just a wee bit excited (that's a gross understatement, by the way... :) )

As it stands currently, I can just about take-off. hold a steady(ish) hover, and fly around quite convincingly. Landings are still a challenge, but hopefully as the product matures and I get more practice this will become second nature. Learning systems as I go - lots of RTFMing still to do ;)

I take my flight-simming very seriously (spare time is precious and needs to be used effectively), and probably because of this I've never been one for buying every module going in DCS - I think to become extremely proficient I need to focus on one airframe at a a time, and as a result tend not to change my current seat. I'm looking to hopefully find some like-minded Apache pilots and even better find some who are willing to "crew up" and we can really appreciate the Apache as it should be flown, because it is quite obvious single player even with George just isn't going to do it justice - this is no Janes Longbow2, that's for sure!

I guess first off I should aim to join the No.1 Flying Training School (Rotary Wing)? I'm never going to be the best Apache Pilot/CPG, but will commit to giving it my best shot.

Hope to see you on the ramps soon!

0415 Falcon

Re: Hello